top of page

Tips for Success

Last week I caught Mason in my bedroom, on top of my dresser, naked, chewing gum and cutting paper with a very large pair of scissors. How he managed to do this in between the time I put him down for nap and the ten minutes I waited to check on him is beyond me. After the initial shock wore off and I lectured Mason about the dangers of using scissors, gum chewing and doing both at the same time, I began thinking about how hard it is to be a Mom. Being a mom is the hardest job that I have ever had. There is no other experience in the world like it.

There have been times in my life since having a family that I have thought about dying my hair, changing my name and running away with the circus (can people really do this?). What I have learned so far is how important it is to cut yourself some slack, reconnect with your old self and enjoy the little things. I’ve created a list of things to do when you, as a mother, feel completely overwhelmed and stressed out. Make sure to tab this. You make need this (often) in the future.

  • Take a time out: take a bath, take a walk, or practice some deep breathing. Whatever you do make sure you have at least ten minutes to do it. Remember this time out must be alone. Imagine that it is a power-nap for your soul; allow it to refresh you so you are able to jump back into the craziness of life.

  • Do what you did before: go dancing, to your favorite karaoke bar, on a date with your significant other, or to a nice restaurant. Get out and do what you did pre-children. Re-connecting with things you love to do is a way to remind yourself that you are more than a butt-wiper, milk machine or boo-boo kisser.

  • Spend time with like-minded people: once a month I meet with an amazing group of women. We laugh, cry and shoulder life’s burdens together. Sometimes it is good to know that other people have children who don’t nap or stick toys up their noses too. A great support system is the key to one’s sanity.

  • Exercise: go for a run, do a yoga DVD, or YouTube a workout (here are a few I enjoy: Full Body, Jillian Michaels, 30 min workout). Taking thirty minutes to an hour for yourself will energize your spirit, not to mention give you the stamina to keep up with your busy toddler.

  • Re-connect with your spirituality: for me praying, going to church, or listening to worship music changes my heart and attitude and prepares me for what lies ahead.

10151845_10203695282605304_2242242024948826713_n.jpg

[Some of the wonderful women in my life]

The gift of motherhood is incredibly confusing. It is wonderful and terrible, thrilling and terrifying, joyful and painful. True joy comes out of a heart that is rested, thankful and rooted in love. Above all, you must give to yourself so that you may give to your family in return.


Meet the Writer

Candace McDonald

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Favorite Blogs
bottom of page