top of page

"Vintage"

“Good morning, does anyone have a good thing to share today before we begin class?”

“I do! This weekend I bought a vintage Saved By the Bell t-shirt.”

“Vintage? What do you mean, vintage?”

The thought of Saved By the Bell being vintage absolutely floors me. When did I get so old? The longer I teach the more “vintage” I become. Just yesterday I learned that when referring to a party I am supposed to say, “this weekend I am going to get turnt up.” Also, that the word is “turnt” not “turned.” And here I was, thinking this whole time that I was a “young, cool teacher.”

I remember days when I thought turning thirty was the end of life itself. In my young, ridiculous (of course), mind thirty-year-olds were un-cool, boring and went to bed at 8:00 p.m. I go to bed at 8:30, and I am definitely cool and fun, right?

What I didn’t know then was that the demands of being a wife, mother and full-time teacher will sometimes suck the life out of you. And that you may spend your evening doing dishes, laundry and dreaming of getting a work out in. I also didn’t know what getting up at 4:30 a.m., even though your baby is teething and wanting to nurse all night, was like. Between the tiredness, workload and unending chores there is not much room for coolness.

But sometimes, you have a beautiful day. Your husband does something thoughtful, your children gives you extra snuggles, your students love the lesson you so carefully planned and you forget about being cool, or fun, or bed time. You breathe those days in deep and hold them close to your heart so that you can forge the days ahead.

My students may say that I am “vintage,” but I say I am aged to perfection and that age is only a mindset.


Meet the Writer

Candace McDonald

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Favorite Blogs
bottom of page